Reading pointers below I borrowed from my Google+ microblogs “Data Visualization” (https://plus.google.com/111053008130113715119/posts , 7000+ followers) and “Data Visualization with Tableau” (https://plus.google.com/112388869729541404591/posts , almost 1000 followers). Sometimes the reading is more important then doing or writing. The reading on the beach (like below) can be even more…

PlaceToRead

  1. How Scalable Do Analytics Solutions Need to Be? http://www.perceptualedge.com/blog/?p=2097
  2. The Data Visualization Catalogue. http://blog.visual.ly/the-data-visualization-catalogue and http://datavizcatalogue.com/
  3. The Evolution of SQL Server BI, https://www.simple-talk.com/sql/reporting-services/the-evolution-of-sql-server-bi/
  4. Abela’s Folly – A Thought Confuser. http://www.perceptualedge.com/blog/?p=2080
  5. TIBCO Spotfire Promotes an Insidious Myth. http://www.perceptualedge.com/blog/?p=2035
  6. User Ideas Turned into Product Features: https://www.tableau.com/about/blog/2015/8/community-contributes-again-ideas-released-91-41812
  7. Is Data Is, or Is Data Ain’t, a Plural? http://blogs.wsj.com/economics/2012/07/05/is-data-is-or-is-data-aint-a-plural and http://www.theguardian.com/news/datablog/2010/jul/16/data-plural-singular?es_p=662983
  8. Talk: How to Visualize Data, https://eagereyes.org/talk/talk-how-to-visualize-data#more-8879
  9. Pillars Of Mapping Data To Visualizations, http://global.qlik.com/us/blog/authors/patrik-lundblad
  10. Radar Chart can be useful(?), https://www.tableau.com/about/blog/2015/7/use-radar-charts-compare-dimensions-over-several-metrics-41592
  11. Visualization Publication Data Collection, http://www.vispubdata.org/site/vispubdata/
  12. Visual Representation of SQL Joins, http://www.codeproject.com/Articles/33052/Visual-Representation-of-SQL-Joins and http://www.theinformationlab.co.uk/2015/02/05/joining-data-tables-tableau-alteryx/

Visual_SQL_JOINS_orig

  1. Example of stupidity of the crowd: http://about.g2crowd.com/press-release/best-business-intelligence-platforms-summer-2015/
  2. Reviving the Statistical Atlas of the United States with New Data, http://flowingdata.com/2015/06/16/reviving-the-statistical-atlas-of-the-united-states-with-new-data/
  3. Exploring the 7 Different Types of Data Stories: http://mediashift.org/2015/06/exploring-the-7-different-types-of-data-stories
  4. Set Your Own Style with Style Templates: http://www.tableau.com/about/blog/2015/6/saving-time-style-templates-39932
  1. A Look at Choropleth Maps , http://visualoop.com/blog/84485/a-look-at-choropleth-maps
  2. Mountain Chart for different categories (profiles) of web visits: https://public.tableau.com/profile/andrei5435#!/vizhome/MountainChart/MountainChart

MountainChart

  1. To the point: 7 reasons you should use dot graphs, http://www.maartenlambrechts.be/to-the-point-7-reasons-you-should-use-dot-graphs/
  2. Rant: A Tableau Faithful’s View On Qlik , http://curtisharris.weebly.com/blog/rant-a-tableau-faithfuls-view-on-qlik
  3. Too Big Data: Coping with Overplotting, http://www.infragistics.com/community/blogs/tim_brock/archive/2015/04/21/too-big-data-coping-with-overplotting.aspx
  4. Too much data to visualize? Data densification in Tableau 9 , https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/too-much-data-visualize-densification-tableau-9-kris-erickson
  5. The Architecture of a Data Visualization, https://medium.com/accurat-studio/the-architecture-of-a-data-visualization-470b807799b4 , also see https://medium.com/@hint_fm/design-and-redesign-4ab77206cf9
  6. Filter Views using URL Parameters , http://kb.tableau.com/articles/knowledgebase/view-filters-url

space-time

  1. Building a Visualization of Transit System Data Using GTFS , http://datablick.com/2015/05/05/building-a-visualization-of-transit-system-data-using-gtfs/
  2. A Look At Box Plots , http://visualoop.com/blog/32470/a-look-at-box-plots
  3. Custom Tableau Server Admin Views , http://ugamarkj.blogspot.com/2014/08/custom-tableau-server-admin-views.html
  4. Circular and Hive Plot Network Graphing in Tableau , http://datablick.com/2015/04/13/circular-and-hive-plot-network-graphing-in-tableau-by-chris-demartini/
  5. Hexbins in Tableau , http://www.theinformationlab.co.uk/2015/05/12/hexbins-in-tableau/
  6. Tableau Public Goes Premium for Everyone; Expands Access to 10 Million Rows of Data , http://investors.tableau.com/investor-news/investor-news-details/2015/Tableau-Public-Goes-Premium-for-Everyone-Expands-Access-to-10-Million-Rows-of-Data/default.aspx

LookFromReadingPost